Nilgiris Gone

It has been a little over three years since I first reviewed Nilgiris Indian Sizzler.  Well their website may still be up for now but the restaurant is gone.  Yesterday I drove by and noticed it was closed.  Sad to see that since it was my favorite lunch buffet.  With the demise of the Bombay Grill a year or so ago that leaves only the Clay Oven on the Golden Mile as your source for Indian dining in the Frederick Area.

UPDATE:  There is a sign in the window that says Delhis will be opening soon.

13 Comments

Filed under Restaurant- misc.

13 responses to “Nilgiris Gone

  1. Ouch. That leaves a hole. I liked them.

  2. Trout

    Wegmans has indian food in their cafe area, but I haven’t tried it so I don’t know if it is any good.

  3. fredfood

    I haven’t dared to venture into Wegmans yet! Maybe next week. I went to Common Market today and saw there is a sign up that says Delhis is coming soon. Sounds Indian to me.

  4. Seema

    The new restaurant opening up is also Indian and its name is Delhi 6 Authentic Indian Cuisine with a full service bar and lounge. Its closed for renovations and are targeting to open by end of June.

  5. Anonymous

    I dined once in Nilgiris couple of months ago and i liked it very much. It is very sad to see them out of business. Clay oven is kind of pricey compared to Nilgiris. I am hoping that Delhi6 will replace nilgiris well in terms of everything.

  6. Anonymous

    That’s too bad! I enjoyed their lunch buffet.

  7. Anonymous

    Those of you who say that you liked the lunch buffet have to try out other indian places. Except their Naan (bread), all the other items were consistently sub-standard. I have tried them around 5-6times over last 3 years but never was fully satisfied. Anyways, I am so glad to see that it is gone. I hope Delhi-6 would be better. If you would like indian food until Delhi-6 opens- check out Minerva in Gaithersburg and Spice Xing in Rockville. These are the best indian restaurants along 270.

  8. Anonymous

    Those of you who say that you liked the lunch buffet at Nilgiris have to try out other indian places. Except their Naan (bread), all the other items were consistently sub-standard. I have tried them around 5-6times over last 3 years but never was fully satisfied. Anyways, I am so glad to see that it is gone. I hope Delhi-6 would be better. If you would like indian food until Delhi-6 opens- check out Minerva in Gaithersburg and Spice Xing in Rockville. These are the best indian restaurants along 270.

  9. Anonymous

    I agree with the last poster – Nilgiris was my least favorite among the Frederick choices. When I was there, it appeared to me that they were trying to appeal to a broader clientele, and that the Indian dishes and spices were pretty bland. I really missed Bombay Grill from its heyday, but the last few visits were disappointing, to the point that I wasn’t surprised that it closed. I’ve always found Clay Oven to be consistently good. Thanks for the Gaithersburg tips for Indian dining. If you want to drive a little farther, Haandi in Bethesda is about the best I’ve had around here.

  10. Anonymous

    I liked Nilgiris. I can’t agree with the “bland” comment above, I’ve had some wonderfully flavorful dishes there (and one of the most mouth-scorching Indian dishes I’ve ever had). Their dosas were superb too. Maybe you just didn’t order the right dishes?

    I will say that yes, they could be quite inconsistent (I’m pretty sure the chaat I ordered last time I was there was missing a few ingredients).

    Clay Oven is indeed always consistently good, but I’ll certainly miss those dosas.

  11. Spice Xing in Rockville is wonderful. So good in fact that Don Rockwell had a foodie dinner there. Tough crowd to please for sure. Bombay Grill was good when it first opened, but the quality declined so drastically that I didn’t even blink when it closed. Looking forward to trying the new place.

  12. Scotty

    The best Indian food heading west is Taj India located downtown Hagerstown on Potomac St. Great dining room, and service. The owner does most serving, so exspect the best. I never cared for Indian food until I went there. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

