Tangent Paragon Vineyards Sauvignon Blanc Edna Valley 2009

For me a little oak goes a long way.  I’m especially sensitive to the amount of oak in white wines as all too often the oak seems to overpower the flavors.  Regular readers will know I have a strong dislike of the big, buttery, oaky California-style Chardonnay.  As far as I am concerned if I wanted that much oak I’d just chew on a stick.  So when I’m choosing a white I usually tend to gravitate towards to unoaked bottlings.  If your palate is like mine I’d like to recommend the 2009 Tangent Paragon Vineyards Sauvignon Blanc.  From the Edna Valley in California this wine looks away from the new and towards the old world.  This is the second vintage of theirs that I have tried and I think this one is better than the ’08.  Lots of tangerine and lemon flavors, all wrapped inside nice flinty acidity.  Delicious and right what I am looking for in a white. 

I paid $14.99 for this from the Frederick Wine House.  I rate it a solid 90.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wine

Leave a Reply

