Truffle and Salt

truffle saltAbout as local as the topic of this next post gets is the fact that you can buy it on the internet and have it shipped to Frederick, but every once in a while I just have to mention something I come across that I love.  One of the most amazing condiments I have ever encountered is Casina Rossa Truffle and Salt.  Notice they call it truffle and salt.  That’s a good clue.  More than just salt infused with some truffle oil or flavoring, this product is sea salt from Abruzzo, Italy interspersed with flecks of genuine black truffles; about 5% the jar says.  Just open the jar and stick your nose in:  amazing.  Heck I could be quite happy just sniffing the jar, but put it on food and WOW.  So far we have enjoyed this on everything it has touched.  Some of the really high notes have been on buttered popcorn (oh the decadence!); in some olive oil as a dipping sauce for bread, and last night I had it on some steamed brussels sprouts.  I don’t know of anywhere that carries this locally but if you do let me know.  It seems like the sort of thing that they would carry at Firestone’s Market on Market.  I’ll have to check and if anyone knows please post.  At around $24 for a 3.5 oz jar it’s not cheap.  But considering the price of truffles it is not outrageous and would make a great stocking stuffer for the foodie in your life.

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Truffle and Salt

  1. Looks like a great product, we will see if we can get it in at the market. If you let us know the web site to check ,we will get it shipped to the market.

  2. Blank

    This is the product that got me hooked on truffles! I now dig my own here in Oregon. I have tried to duplicate this extraordinary blend, but have failed in sustaining the aroma for for than two weeks. So, alas, I still buy this product at my local specialty food store.

    Try http://www.saltworks.us/ They may sell wholesale.

    Mike Vaughn

Leave a Reply

