Isabella’s Meats

The other night Mrs. F and I were eating at Isabellas.  While I felt guilty not trying something new so I could report on it here, it was a very rare date night so I wanted to make sure there were no disappointments.   I have made no secret of my love for this place in the past (here  and here if you are interested)  and it lived up to my expectations as usual.  Of interest was that I saw on the menu that they are sourcing a lot of their meats locally.  The beef was grass-fed from Hedgeapple Farms and the pork was also from  a local producer.  The wholesaler which provides all their seafood was identified as well. The only thing missing was any mention of where the poultry originates.

As an aside we went on a Saturday night and the place was packed.  Could only get a seat at the bar where we enjoyed a nice big pitcher of sangria with our food.  They have a cool new system where they insert an enclosed ice core into the pitcher to keep the sangria cold without diluting it as the ice melts.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Restaurant Reviews, Restaurant- misc.

One response to “Isabella’s Meats

  1. I did an interview with their executive chef some time earlier this year. He is very big on local food: http://growninfrederick.blogspot.com/2009/04/our-interview-with-james-johns-of.html

Leave a Reply

