In A Wine Slump

As you know wine is a passion of mine and I really enjoy finding wines that excite me and letting you know about them.   I have been really eager to add some more wine reviews up here, but lately all of the wines I’ve tried I really can’t recommend for one reason or another.  Generally I only mention the wines I like but I don’t want you to think I’m not trying!  Here are the last three I’ve tried:

2006 Saintsbury Pinot Noir Stanly Ranch:  very austere with lots of cranberry flavors.  Can do much better in the Pinot category at this price point (approx $35).

2007 Peirano Estate The Other.  Decent if one dimensional red, could be a tolerable pizza wine, but at $14 a bottle I will pass.

Grotta del sole2008 Grotta del Sole Gragnano Penisola Sorrentina. This was interesting and we enjoyed drinking it.  A blend of the Aglianico, Piedirosso and Sciasinasso grapes, it is a mildly fizzy (frizzante) red wine that is recommended to be served cold.  With its dark purple color it looks very much like sparkling concord grape juice and is what is considered a “new” wine: bottled as early as November following the fall harvest and meant to be drunk young.   With fruity flavors and a touch of sweetness this was a fun wine meant to be drunk (liberally) and not thought too much about.  More like a soft drink than a serious wine it was worthwhile from a perspective of adding something new to my mental wine database, but at $18 a bottle it out of the everyday drinking price that we felt a wine of this quality should be.   Get this around $10 per bottle and it would be a great everyday wine, especially for somone who likes more fruit and less acid.

 On a positive note I did really like  the 2006 Ojai Vineyard Grenache.  This California (Santa Barbara) wine is mostly Grenache (80%) with the rest Syrah.  It was a delicious, medium bodied wine with lots of black currant and raspberry flavors.    Very drinkable now; it struck me as a terrific Thanksgiving wine.  The only reason I hesitate to unequivocally recommend it was at $35 per bottle it’s not in the value sweet spot that I look for.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wine

Leave a Reply

