Banana Daiquiris

Forget that awful corn syrup laden; spawn of a chemistry set daiquiri mix.  Here is a recipe that hearkens back to the true roots of the drink and is already a regular in our rotation:

Put 1/2 to 3/4 oz freshly squeezed lime juice, 1 heaping tablespoon sugar, 2 ounces of light rum, and 1 cup of cracked ice into a blender. Add half a ripe banana (finally another use for them besides banana bread!)  and blend until smooth. The proper way is to strain the mixture into a chilled glass but we prefer to just dump the whole thing into a glass for a more frozen style.  This recipe doubles, triples or quadruples very nicely as long as your blender can hold it!

Anyone else find they drink more liquor in the summer months than winter?  What with mojitios, caipirinhas, margaritas and now daiquiris I know I sure do.  Winter is really just time for wine and ales.

5 Comments

Filed under Booze, The Good Life

5 responses to “Banana Daiquiris

  1. I love it when people come together and share thoughts.
    Great blog, continue the good work!

  2. You are so awesome! I do not think I have read through something like this before.
    So nice to discover somebody with some genuine thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up.
    This website is one thing that is needed on the web,
    someone with a bit of originality!

  3. Havіng driven аωay with thе seconԁ award by Car – Buyer, thіs model seеms to be stable on thhe podium аnd an embodimenbt
    οf enduring quality bу the Audi. Foг manу motorists, efficiency іs а highly іmportant factor аnd
    іn this respect an Audii iѕ a great option. Ford,
    the UK market leader, reached іtѕ tip-top this February wіth aan improvement
    оf a 2.

  4. Having read this I believed it was very informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much
    time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  5. I leave a response when I like a article on a site or I have something to add
    to the conversation. It’s caused by the fire communicated in the post I read.
    And after this article Banana Daiquiris | Fred Foodie- Eating and Drinking in and
    around Frederick, Maryland. I was actually excited enough to drop a thought :
    ) I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it only me or do some of the remarks look as if they are coming from brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites,
    I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.
    Could you list the complete urls of all your
    social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

