Beaujolais Nouveau 2008

Long time readers will know my feelings on Beaujolais Nouveau.  Its just something I feel compelled to try each year.  I had kind of resolved that I was going to avoid the BN this year and try some of the better versions of Beaujolais out there.  However as I was waiting to purchase some other stuff at Ye Old Spirit Shop (Shoppe?) on 7th Street the colorful label from Geaorges Duboeuf had caught my eye and before I knew what had happened there was another $10.99 on my tab.

gd-bn-2008-web

Thanksgiving is certainly tied for first as the best holiday of the year  for me: a day devoted to food, drink and family.  What could be better? We decided that the only way to make it better is to have a pre-Thanksgiving dinner on Sunday for those who are scattering on the actual holiday.  In reviewing the wine I decided that it would be a good time to break out the BN.  Actually Beaujolais is a very good choice for a wine that can pair with the profusion of dishes found on the Thanksgiving table.  As someone once said: Beaujolais is the only white wine that is actually red.  I think this is because Beajolais is often very acidic and food friendly and drinks better slightly chilled.  With that in mind I sat the bottle out on the back deck for an hour or so before opening.    When we cracked it the first thing you noticed is the powerful candy fruit on the nose.  It had a huge nose of strawberry laffy taffy or twizzlers (what I call a fake fruit nose).  However, it was much more subtle on the palate.  Mild flavors of strawberry and raspberry, with lots of acidity and a longer than expected finish made this a good wine.  As a bonus it paired well with all of the dishes we served.

While there probably won’t be anyone who falls in love with this wine, there probably won’t be anyone who hates it either, so its a smart choice for the Thanksgiving table.  Mrs F and I both agreed that this was the best BN we have had in a long time.  At $10.99 its not a bad price and I give it a solid 87.

If you are interested here was our pre-Thanksgiving menu:

 

Starter:  Curried Sweet Potato Soup with Spiced Cranberry Pumpkin Muffins

 Main: Maple Glazed Butternut Squash and Apples with Smoked Sage Sausage; Mashed Potatoes;Traditional Stuffing and Brussels Sprouts Gratin

 Dessert:  Little French Fudge Cakes

1 Comment

Filed under Wine

One response to “Beaujolais Nouveau 2008

  1. Pingback: Third Thursday in November | Fred Foodie- Eating and Drinking in and around Frederick, Maryland

Leave a Reply

