I’m back and with pickles

Sorry the posts have been so few and far between.  Brought two new employees into my company and went on vacation for a week so it’s been crazy.  I’ll try to do better.  So yesterday I was thinking about pickles as I was eating lunch.  As long-term readers know I am a big fan of Michael Pollan’s books.  I make it a point to seek out local foods and eat things that are made up of ingredients my Grandmother would recognize.  If you look at a mass-produced jar of pickles you will see a long list of things including sodium benzoate, other preservatives and some unrecognizable things.  So I was real happy to pick up a jar of Catoctin Mountain Orchards Sweet Garlic Pickles.  Here are the ingredients:  fresh cucumbers, vinegar, garlic, onions, spices and salt.  They are delicious.  In fact while we were devouring them yesterday we decided to try making our own pickles next summer.  Up to now our efforts at preserving our produce have consisted of dehydrating, freezing or freezer jams.  I’ve always been kind of intimidated by real canning (just google botulism!)  so we will have to figure that out.  I think Santa Claus might be bringing a canner to the Fred household this Christmas.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Stores

One response to “I’m back and with pickles

  1. I done got me a red ribbon for my pickles at the Fair! Really, it’s easy and pickles are far less scary b/c of the super acidic environment. Botulism dares not settle there.

    Get yourself the Ball Blue Book (not to be confused with the Blue Ball Book) and you’ll be set.

Leave a Reply

