Wine Movie: Bottle Shock

There is a new movie  out with a wine focus.  Its called Bottle Shock.  It is the story of the early days of California wine making featuring the now infamous, blind Paris wine tasting of 1976.  It is based (very loosely by the appearance of the trailer) on George Taber’s book The Judgment of Paris.  (This book is a good read for all wine geeks- FCPL has copies).  I wonder what wine this movie will impact like Sideways did to Merlot?  Here is the trailer:

It was released at the Sundance Film Festival and its in general limited release.  Have no idea where it is showing around here.  The DVD release date is unknown at this time.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Wine

2 responses to “Wine Movie: Bottle Shock

  1. Michael

    Movie was great, i loved the soundtrack, and the cast put on a great performance. I’ve made my own wine before with my dad when I was a kid, and this movie just made me want to be a vintner and make my own wine as a profession. The movie comes out August 6th in some places and the 15th in others. You can find out everything at http://www.bottleshockthemovie.com

  2. Margaret Grossman

    It is a wonderful movie. I saw at Maui film festival and am happy to see it’s coming out soon. I hope it does well– should get good word of mouth. Where can I get the soundtrack? The music/cinematography was gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

