More on Vendors

Rochelle, who writes an excellent blog Lots of Everything wrote a great comment to my last post.  Since not everybody takes time to read the comments I thought I would post my response here. 

Rochelle,

            Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I agree totally with what you said.  I would like to mention that I had a lengthy internal debate about naming the vendor.  We really like Ridgefield Farms, enjoy their apples, the kids have been there and Mrs. F is friends with one of the owners, but in the end I strive to be honest and I realized that my reticence about naming them was solely due to my personal good feelings towards them.                       

            I think it’s unreasonable to expect a vendor in such a small market to produce everything they sell.  In this situation I’m glad they don’t:  it makes commercial sense to have a range of produce to attract as many people as possible to a small market.  I wouldn’t have cared if they had said some other farm in West Virginia, Virginia or North Carolina or whatever. (Just not Driscoll Farms in California- those things are awful!)  I would’ve bought them anyway, but I was taken aback by what I perceived to be a less than honest answer.  There’s no shame in selling someone else’s produce.  However, one of the benefits in shopping farmer’s markets is that the vendors can tell you where their wares came from.  It’s definitely not an unreasonable request.

            As an aside Lowry’s Farm Stand about a ¾ mile up Rt. 17 in Brunswick grows none of the produce they sell.  However the owner can always say exactly where it came from and in some instances when it was picked.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Stores

Leave a Reply

