Nino Franco Rustico Prosecco

  One of the best bottles of prosecco that I have ever tasted was a bottle of  2006 Nino Franco Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Primo Franco.  It was given to me as a gift and what set it apart (besides its terrific taste) was that it  was a vintage prosecco.   Most proseccos you see in stores are non-vintage, that is they are made up of a blend of grapes from different harvest years. 

I have never seen the Primo for sale in the Frederick area, so I had to pick up a bottle of  their second tier prosecco,  Nino Franco Rustico, when I saw it in the store.  At $17.99 its on the upper end of prosecco, so it lacked prosecco most endearing charm to me:  its cheapness.  All in all it was a very nice prosecco. All the lightness and acidity you’d expect from a prosecco, yet fairly complex (for prosecco) on the palate. Flavors of lemon peel, pear and some green apple. I rate it an 89.

If I keep this up I’ll have to rename this the prosecco blog. 

2 Comments

Filed under Wine

2 responses to “Nino Franco Rustico Prosecco

  1. Where did you find it?

  2. fredfood

    Oops- Thanks Rochelle I guess I did leave one important detail out! I bought it at the Frederick Wine House.

Leave a Reply

