A Great Read- Mediterranean Summer

I am in the middle of reading three food related books, which I will probably post about as I finish them.  What do they have to do with Frederick?  Honestly, nothing except that I got them all from the Frederick County Public Library.

The first one I have finished is Mediterranean Summer: A Season on France’s Cote d’Azur and Italy’s Costa Bella by David  Shalleck.  I just picked up this book on a lark, and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it.  A light read it details the authors summer sailing as a chef for a wealthy  Italian couple on their yacht as it travels the French and Italian Riveras and beyond.   This memoir-travelogue-cooking book hit on three of my favorite things:  the ocean/beach, food and Italy!  The most impressive thing was how he cooked.  Each morning he would put ashore and search the local markets, find what was local, fresh and in season and plan the days meals around that.  It was great to read his thinking behind the creative process.  As a top down cook (ie find a recipe, then search out the ingredients) who is striving to be more the other way, I was in awe of his ability to whip up a menu on the spot.  There were some interesting recipes at the end of the book as well. 

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Reading

2 responses to “A Great Read- Mediterranean Summer

  1. Hi there,

    I stumbled onto your blog in a roundabout way after getting onto the Frederick Wine House email list recently. Loving food and wine (and spending my junior year of college in Italy!), I loved your post about the books you found at our library.

    We have a newish quarterly magazine, Bookmarks, and I would love to include your book picks sometime. Feel free to contact me if you are interested. Thanks!

    Elizabeth Cromwell, PR Manager
    Frederick County Public Libraries

  2. Pingback: The Billionaire’s Vinegar « Fred Foodie- Eating and Drinking in and around Frederick, Maryland

Leave a Reply

